Check if your property can be released
PropertyControl@cityofsalem.net to check if your property is able to be returned to you. If you are unable to email, you can call 503-588-6104 and leave a brief message. Please include as much of the following information as possible:
- Your name and date of birth
- Your telephone number
- Police incident number
- Item number and description of the propery item that can be found on the property receipt
The Property Control Section will check to make sure your property can be released. This may take two to five business days.
Make an appointment
If the property can be released to you, Salem Police Property Control staff will make an appointment with you to come get your property.
Appointments can be scheduled for Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays between the hours of 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. and between 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Bring the following items with you to your appointment:
- Photo ID, such as a driver license or a jail identification card
- Documentation for property, as needed:
- Court order for release of property
- Power of attorney documents
- Prescriptions, if picking up prescription medication
- Notarized letter
If you are unable to come in person to claim your property, you may write and notarize a letter to allow someone else to get your property. Parents can pick up property on behalf of their minor children.
Additional property information
There may be other requirements before your property can be released, depending on what the property item is and how it came to be in police custody.
If the item was seized as evidence in a case, the item cannot be returned until the prosecution of the case has been completed and the District Attorney releases a judgement that the property can be returned to you.
Property taken for safekeeping must be claimed within 60 days before it is disposed of by the police department. Safekeeping property will be marked as "SK" on your property receipt.
Found property with no owner listed is held for 30 days.
The Salem Police Department will only take custody of property items valued over $250 or when an owner can be identified.
If you have found property, you may be eligible to file a finder’s claim (ORS 98.005). Contact the Property Control Section immediately for additional information.
Visit the website for the Oregon Revised Statutes to learn more about the rights and duties of a finder.
Firearms can be returned to you upon passing a criminal history background check. If you need to retrieve both a firearm and ammunition from the Salem Police Department, the items cannot be released together. You will need two appointments to pick the items up separately.
Illegal property items
Property items which are illegal to possess cannot be returned to you.
Property items that are proceeds from a crime, such as stolen property, also cannot be returned. Recovered stolen property can be returned to the owner when the property becomes releasable.
Illegal drugs and drug paraphernalia cannot be returned to you, and this includes marijuana. Although marijuana is legal to possess in the state of Oregon, it is an illegal substance under federal law.
Prescription medications can be returned, if they are prescribed to you.