Salem City Council Finance Committee


The Salem City Council Finance Committee, also known simply as the Finance Committee, is a standing committee of the City Council whose purpose is to advise the City Council and City Manager on financial policy, planning, and management issues.

The Finance Committee is now comprised of:

Councilor Andersen, Chair
Leung – as Alternate

The terms of the City Council members shall be staggered, with two members being appointed in even-numbered years and one member being appointed each odd-numbered year.

Matters to be considered

The following matters shall be referred to the Finance Committee without further action by the City Council as a whole or the City Manager, for its review and recommendation:

  1. The annual financial audit, management letter, and City Manager’s response.
  2. Financial policies recommended by the City Manager or the City Council for adoption.
  3. Revenue and expenditure assumptions contained in the Five-Year Financial Forecast.

The Finance Committee may provide advice and provide recommendations to the City Council as a whole or to the City Manager on the following matters:

  1. Integration of the Council Goals with the City’s financial plan.
  2. Development of and updates to a long-range financial strategy to ensure the provision of sustainable community services.
  3. Any other matter concerning the City’s financial planning referred by the City Council as a whole or by the City Manager.
The committee adheres to the approved Salem City Council Policy Manual.


Authority: Resolution 2008-8

Number of members: 4

Type of appointment: Mayoral recommendation with City Council approval

Length of term: 3 years

DateDocument TitleFile Size
5/23/20222769 KB
5/23/202226 KB
3/28/20222833 KB
3/28/202225 KB
1/24/2022968 KB
1/24/202235 KB
12/13/20211403 KB
12/13/202184 KB
11/22/20212510 KB
11/22/202176 KB
10/25/20214184 KB
10/25/202127 KB
8/30/20212387 KB
8/30/202127 KB
7/26/20212189 KB
1 - 15Next
Title (with link to item)File Size
Staff Report to Establish Committee54 KB
Resolution 2008-08 Establishing Finance Committee76 KB

The Finance Committee is composed of three City Councilors and the Mayor.

MemberPositionFilterAppointmentTermTerm Expires
Jose Gonzalez
Committee Member
City Councilor for Ward 5
Micki Varney
Committee Member
City Councilor for Ward 8
Tom Andersen
Committee Chair
City Councilor for Ward 2
Vanessa Nordyke
Alternative Committee Member
City Councilor for Ward 7
Virginia Stapleton
Committee Member
City Councilor for Ward 1

Contact us

7:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. (payment counter)
8:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. (phone)
555 Liberty ST SE RM 230
Salem OR 97301